Ranking all 22 World Cup balls from worst to best after Qatar 2022 ball is revealed as 'quickest in tournament history'

THERE are many footballs in the world but there is only one for each World Cup.

From the old and heavy brown ball of the early 20th century, to the unforgettable black-and-white spotty one of the 1970s, until the artsy versions of today.

This year's ball for Qatar 2022 was recently unveiled by FIFA and England will have adidas' "Al Rihla" at their feet as they bid to bring football home for the first time since 1966.

And the manufacturers have promised that it will be the "fastest and most accurate FIFA World Cup ball to date" ahead of the upcoming draw.

Design Director at adidas Franziska Loffelmann said: "The game is getting faster and, as it speeds up, accuracy and flight stability become critically important.

"The new design allows the ball to maintain a significantly higher speed as it journeys through the air.

Read More on Football

Grand National free bets and sign up offers: New customer deals for Aintree

Man Utd have highest digital value despite Real and Barca’s larger following

"For the biggest global stage in all of sport, we set out to make the impossible possible with radical innovation by creating the fastest and most accurate FIFA World Cup ball to date."

Us at SunSport see how Al Rihla compares to all other World Cup balls as we rank them from worst to best starting from 1930 all the way to today:

22nd: 1930 World Cup ball

Most read in Football


Barcelona thrash Real Madrid 8-3 on agg in front of record crowd at Nou Camp


World Cup draw simulated with England getting tough ties vs Germany & Senegal


Wijnaldum slammed by Van der Vaart for 'mistake' PSG transfer from Liverpool


Newcastle to strengthen FIVE positions but face window without Dan Ashworth


21st: 1962 World Cup ball

20th: 1958 World Cup ball

19th: 1938 World Cup ball

18th: 1934 World Cup ball

17th: 1950 World Cup ball

16th: 1954 World Cup ball

15th: 1974 World Cup ball

14th: 1986 World Cup ball

13th: 1990 World Cup ball

12th: 1994 World Cup ball

11th: 1982 World Cup ball

10th: 1978 World Cup ball

9th: 1998 World Cup ball

8th: 2022 World Cup ball

7th: 2006 World Cup ball

6th: 2018 World Cup ball

5th: 2014 World Cup ball

4th: 2002 World Cup

3rd: 1970 World Cup ball

2nd: 1966 World Cup ball

1st: 2010 World Cup ball

    Source: Read Full Article